10th Annual Shipwreck Beads Modified Nationals This Weekend

Posted by David Haviland on July 30, 2009 at 10:15 am (1417 social interactions)

The action will be hot and heavy this weekend at Grays Harbor Raceway located at the Fairgrounds in Elma, in the running of the 10th Annual Shipwreck Beads Modified Nationals, Friday July 31st and Saturday August 1st.  Over 50 drivers from California, Oregon, Washington and British Columbia, have pre-entered making it one of the largest fields in years. Grays Harbor Raceway is a ASA Member Track

On Friday, drivers will qualify, run two sets of heat races, that will set the A, B and C Mains for Saturday Night.  The highlight of Friday night's racing will be the 30 lap Pete Muller Logging Race of Champions, to be eligible you must have been a former Nationals Champion, former Track Champion and a feature winner at Grays Harbor Raceway in 2009.

Saturday Night will see Trophy Dashes, C, B Mains, a last chance race, and the 40 lap Shipwreck Beads Nationals Main Event.  The Pacific Hardtop Racing Association Dwarf Cars will also be running on Saturday with heat races, Trophy Dashes and Main Events.

Heading the entry list is last year's Nationals Winner and the defending Grays Harbor Raceway Champion Blair Shoemaker from Yakima.  Shoemaker will be driving the Duane D"Amico owned number 27 this weekend.  Shoemaker can expect tough competition from three time Nationals Winner Jon DeBenedetti from Rogue River, Oregon, 2001 Nationals Winner Brian Poppa from Central Point, Oregon.  Cottage Grove hotshoes include,  Braedon Hand,  Craig Hanson,  Jesse Williamson and Curtis Towns, Medford's Scott Lenz, and  Mark Wauge.  Local drivers expected to challenge for the win include the current Grays Harbor Raceway points leader and three time main event winner in 2009, Josh Muller from Montesano, former GHR Modified Champion Scott Miller from Shelton, St Helens Scott Dorie who has two main event wins so far in 2009, another former champion Craig Moore from Seabeck.  Banks and St. Helens drivers include Kenny Miller, Clint Petty, Don Jenner, Doug Davenport, and Sean Fox.  Canadian drivers up to the challenge include Jason Beaulieu from Campbell River, B.C and Graham Cook from Port Hardy, B.C.

The front gate will open at 4:30 pm on both Friday and Saturday Nights, with racing to start at 7:00 pm.

For more information please go to www.graysharborracewayway.com or call the Raceway office at (360) 482-4374.

Stay informed from your inbox.